top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaleb Abshire

Reflection on Peer Teaching

I’m sort of proud of the way my peer teaching lesson went. It was a significant improvement from my first ever lessons, where I was very disorganized because I didn’t write down my goals. This time, I wrote down my goals: check students on their ability to sight read, give students vocabulary to discuss tone and style, and to begin the process of learning a new piece of music with my students. I organized exactly how I was going to do that too, going from easy confidence builders (long tone warm-ups) to something intense and new (performing 8 bars from a new piece with a complex rhythm).

My main strategy was to let students guess at what I was talking about, and then either congratulate them on a perfect answer, or explain how they were close but not quite right. This gave students the opportunity to engage throughout the entire class period, and it gave me a chance to both assess student understanding and keep myself from spiraling on a tangent.


We worked our way up to performing by first just exploring what tone was, listening to a great example by Pavarotti. Then we did our warm-up, long tones first because that’s something everyone can do, and we paid special attention to tone over everything else. Then, we tried the warm-up with a new rhythm that the students hadn’t seen before. The rhythm was pulled directly from the piece we were learning, which I think was a pretty smart move. That way students have extra reps on the rhythm without even realizing that they’re working so hard. I had students try to sight read the rhythm, which was fun for everyone involved; then we played the scale, repeating the rhythm on every note for a total of 8 repetitions before we even looked at the piece. Then we looked at the piece, and students nailed the rhythm on the first try! I was very happy with that, but we lost a little bit of the warmth of tone that I was going for. So we ran it again, and it went very well.


The next time I give a lesson on tone, I will definitely try to model what I’m asking for more. We had the Pavarotti model to go off of, but a recording is no substitute for a real life musical experience. I would also play the long tones with my students, both to warm me up for the day’s practice and to give the students a sound to match and blend to. I might sing the tricky rhythm while conducting the piece if we were in person, but as it stands I think letting students use their own metronome was a much better strategy over zoom because it avoids any sync issues.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What do I want to do through teaching?

My Personal Attributes Or, why I should be a Music Teacher The best seasons I ever had with high school marching band and wind ensemble were those where we were having fun. More specifically, those se

What is my number one priority?

“To be a complete person in the modern world, one must be sensitive to culture in a global context,” wrote Victor Fung in 1995, and it’s a quote that has only gotten more potent with increasing global

What was my hardest lesson in 2020?

Lesson plans (and plans in general) have been the biggest boon to my life ever. I’ve said “yes” to way too many projects in the span of just a few months. Because I didn’t have an organized schedule i

bottom of page