top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaleb Abshire

What is my number one priority?

“To be a complete person in the modern world, one must be sensitive to culture in a global context,” wrote Victor Fung in 1995, and it’s a quote that has only gotten more potent with increasing globalization. And this can be a very good thing: I firmly believe that experiencing new and different cultures from one’s own leads to a kinder heart. We can build critical thinking skills, compassion, empathy, and curiosity in students by emphasizing the wide variety of music practices in the world. There are worries that teaching other kinds of music in American classrooms means forcing Western classical music out the window, but we won’t lose western music by also including music from other cultures—both are music and both can be taught in the same school without causing problems. In fact, it’s probably beneficial.


The American high school music education system is very western-oriented. Students focus on music by western composers, with very few exceptions. This leaves lots of room for enhancement via introducing students to other cultures’ music making practices. We should include a greater amount of genuine performances of non-western music. We should include non-western music in our repertoire, in our lesson plans, and in our daily lives. Even if a student is dead set on performing western music and nothing but western music, I guarantee they will find studying other cultures’ music to improve their abilities all around.


My number one priority in the classroom is to model kindness and compassion for my students and to teach them to do the same. Giving my students musical skills is a very important secondary goal. Hate, anger, intolerance all often come from a place of misunderstanding or lack of experience. In order to combat that, I must first be experienced myself in learning about other cultures’ music, and I must develop a network of people I can rely on to share their culture’s music with my class. I hope that by exposing my students to lots of different music and lots of different cultures, I can teach them to be kind and build a safer world for them at the same time.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflection on Peer Teaching

I’m sort of proud of the way my peer teaching lesson went. It was a significant improvement from my first ever lessons, where I was very disorganized because I didn’t write down my goals. This time, I

What do I want to do through teaching?

My Personal Attributes Or, why I should be a Music Teacher The best seasons I ever had with high school marching band and wind ensemble were those where we were having fun. More specifically, those se

What was my hardest lesson in 2020?

Lesson plans (and plans in general) have been the biggest boon to my life ever. I’ve said “yes” to way too many projects in the span of just a few months. Because I didn’t have an organized schedule i

bottom of page